25 Songs 25 Days: Day 3 – A Song that Reminds you of your Mother

Video

The song “Black Velvet” by Alannah Myles brings me back to being a little girl sitting in the back seat of my moms car. Mom had the cassette in the tape player, every time Black Velvet came on mom blasted it and sang along. I was such a quiet kid just like my mother. To this day she is a very quiet and withdrawn woman. However, when she blasted Alannah Myles I remember thinking my mom is a bad ass! I always wanted to know what she was like when she was a biker chick road tripping across Ontario with my biological father. I feel like this song related to her wild side.

My mom is one of my best friends even though we don’t talk or see each other nearly enough. She has such a big heart and has always been there for me. Although we have major differences I appreciate her everyday and hope that she can one day understand my wild side as well.

25-songs-blog-challenge5

2 thoughts on “25 Songs 25 Days: Day 3 – A Song that Reminds you of your Mother

Leave a Reply

