Rainy Day Fun

Standard

image

It’s raining, it’s pouring, the old man is snoring and we are making art!

It’s another gloomy day in our neck of the woods. That means no outside time for my kinders today.

image

I decided that we would be artists today, make some abstract art to brighten up the morning. So I set out some black paint, paper and plastic cups. It took about a half a minute before I had a child interested in what was going on.

image

image

Child L came over and started making circles on her page. What fun, but what comes next Miss Tiffany?

image

This is when I introduced four new colours: red, yellow, pink and turquoise. Child L went straight to work adding colour into her circles.

image

This activity was a lot of fun! It was also a great fine motor skills activity. Bonus both of my children came over and joined in also. My son just might be starting to enjoy arts&crafts!

image

My son exploring the paint station. He decided to use a jello cup instead of the round cup.

image

My daughter went in a different direction… as she always does. S marches to the beat of her own drum. I love that so much about her.

image

The finished product! I think I might have a few budding artists in my group. Of course the lovely sun belongs to my little ray of sunshine.

What do you do to get through a gloomy rainy day?

7 thoughts on “Rainy Day Fun

  1. My kids used to love painting when they were younger, it was easily one of the best ways to keep them occupied!! There was one particular day when I went to investigate hysterical giggling to find the older ones had painted the Littley completely from head to foot!!

Leave a Reply

