My milkshake makes all the boys run from the yard!

Standard

image

So after lots of consideration I’ve decided that I am NOT happy in my skin. I’ve tried to embrace it by getting some nice new clothes that flatter my figure and trying new pieces of clothing that I wouldn’t regularly choose. However, I just feel like a prisoner in a body that I can’t escape. I’m going to start reading up on exercise… where does one start? I always danced my butt off prebaby but since child number two I can’t seem to dump the plump.

I am open to suggestion and tips!! If anyone has a good resource to share it would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely, My Milkshake

6 thoughts on “My milkshake makes all the boys run from the yard!

  1. You can start just by taking walks. No need to get all crazy with the Cheez Wiz and join a gym, but you can do that too. A lot of gyms offer a free orientation with a personal trainer and (If you can afford it) you can look into training packages so you get guided workouts with a trainer. Yoga and pilates videos are good too. There’s a yoga and pilates for weight loss as well as beginner videos. Just depends on what you like to do. There’s a lot of resources out there.

    • Thanks for the advice, I need to just dive into walking more often. I feel like a big awkward looking dork when I work out for some reason but I need to get over it… it’s probably the best way to get into shape. I’m not sure if you eat clean but I checked into Clean Eating and it sounds amazing. I just don’t think I can do it though! Yoga and pilates might be fun though, I’ll have to check into that!!

  2. I can only suggest to you what I’ve done myself. Ultimately, you can only lose weight if you are burning more calories then you’re consuming. So, I stopped drinking coffee, liquor, pop and drank only water.When I was hungry I slept or chewed gum or on anything handy (pen lids mainly), since it’s the motion that tells your brain your eating, stop being hungry just flexing your jaw could work for a short time. I also started biking. Biking 15km a day to work, I ended up burning more calories than I could take in..which let me snack, and munch when I wanted and what I wanted.

    I’m a impulse and stress eater. Mcdonalds being my downfall and knowing I could never completely curb my snacking tendencies, I banned myself from fast food, but substituted Mcdonalds for cookies, cakes, and deep fried foods paired with healthier choices from home (Ie. Fries, with a burger and juice to drink). I also decreased the amount I was eating by half. I found that once I got over the horrible part of continually being hungry from my stomach shrinking, I became satisfied, even full with the smaller portions.

    I guess the TL/DR (too long, didn’t read) Is you should find a physically demanding activity you can do at least 3 times a week with your kids, decrease the amount you eat, but not what you eat and stop drinking coffee, and pop while drinking more water.

    On a little side note regarding your choice of activity,
    biking was the hardest thing I have ever put myself through for 3 weeks until my body got adjusted to biking. You’ll want to try and find something you’re going to really enjoy. Something that is so much fun the physical exertion and exercise is just a by product.

    Lastly, you need someone to do your activity with. That person is your support, but they are also there to goad you on. To push you to go a little bit further, or higher depending what you’re doing. Plus it’s really wicked to have someone to share your achievements with when you achieve them.

    Also, I want to mention that I managed to lose 100 lbs, and maintain a weight of 125lbs for a whole 3 weeks. During the process I also managed to make myself very sick (drastic changes in weight can cause gall stones, and a whole myriad of other issues). Once I was able to start eating properly again, I gained steadily until I reached 150lbs and I haven’t been able to lose a pound since. I’ve reached a sort of stasis.

    I think it’s important for people to first realize, and then accept the fact their body is always seeking balance. Despite what those people believe is beautiful and sexy, their bodies may not and it’s going to fight to maintain what the body believes is a healthy stasis. As long as you’re active, and are concious of what goes into your body, your body will balance itself out. Women are not meant to be emaciated, we’re meant to be curvy and voluptuous. πŸ™‚

    You’re great as you are, and beautiful just as you are, but I understand exactly where you’re coming from. It’s a frustratingly depressing spot to be in, and it’s a really difficult one to get out of. But I’ll help all I can, the first step is always the hardest (sigh, coffee, my love..) Starting with no more Coffee Thursdays. Instead we’ll do dancersize, and we can *sh-shake it, shake it, shake it, shake it like a polaroid picture!* πŸ˜‰

  3. Hahahahahaha you know me too well! I don’t think I can take the coffee away… I mean I LOVE it! Coffee and I are in a loving relationship! Is it really that bad for me? I agree I need to start drinking water. I’m lucky if I drink one glass a week…so bad.

    Dance, workout get together sounds like a plan. I”m honestly just not happy at my current weight. I don’t mind being bigger but I’m just too big right now. Too bad we couldn’t bike together!

  4. I tried hot yoga for the first time this year (one of my New Year’s Resolutions) and I love it. I haven’t been able to do it for a month due to moving, but I cannot wait to get back to it. I feel so much more balanced mentally and emotionally when I make time for this in my life. I was very skeptical in the beginning, but I have completely jumped on the hot yoga bandwagon.

Leave a Reply

