Operation Get Fit – Love Letter to Carbs

Image

Operation Get Fit

I’m lucky to have an awesome friend that is helping to motivate my butt. This girl has completed her own weight loss journey through biking and walking. She is very inspiring! I let her plan our walking route today and let me tell you we don’t start small. She planned a walk up a pretty high hill. I was terrified that I might not make it to the top of the hill but I did it!! In way less time than what we had anticipated at that. Yay me! After we made it back down the hill we walked some of the local trails also. Feeling energetic aside from my sore calves.

the walkI’m only on day two of operation get fit and I’m noticing that I am going to have trouble with the food. I like my bun at subway, I like bagels and I love pasta. I’ve done okay with the food but it is only day two. I’m not sure I can keep pretending to not love carbohydrates. I even had a Hershey’s kiss as an after walk reward. Oh carbohydrates and sweets, why must I love you so?

reward

2 thoughts on “Operation Get Fit – Love Letter to Carbs

  1. Oh I so totally understand! I have learned that I cannot cut out foods in my life. I end up getting obsessed with them (chocolate, bread, pasta) and eventually go overboard. Yes, you can lose weight faster if you cut those kinds of things out, but chances are good it won’t be long lasting.

    I learned that for me a more moderate approach is better…serving sizes no bigger than a fist at the most of the carbohydrate goodness and load up on fruits and veggies (PS – 1.5 cups of mixed berries ~ 210 calories, 25oz of cantaloupe ~ 250 calories & 7 medium celery stalks ~ 45 calories – that’s A LOT of food!). Of course if I listened to everything I said and know I’d be a helluva lot smaller and healthier. But it’s an ongoing process.

    Make it fun and It gets easier. Can’t wait to hear more!

    • I was watching my kiddos eat their subs the other night and I honestly felt like a wild animal ready to tear into them (the subs not the kids) hahaha.

      I like all of those foods except for cantaloupe, thanks for sharing! I’m loving smoothies right now. I LOVE veggies, trying to eat the yummy green ones πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

